Collection, circa 1941-1972

Duke University. Medical Center.
Scope and content:

Contains death masks for Wilburt C. Davison (1892-1972) first dean of the Duke University School of Medicine, Frederic M. Hanes (1883-1946) second chair of the Department of Medicine, William A. Perlzweig (1891-1949) first chair of the Department of Biochemistry, Francis H. Swett (1893-1943) first chair of the Department of Anatomy, and Robert R. Jones Jr. (1902-1941) original member of the Department of Surgery who was murdered by a patient. One of the Hanes masks might be a life mask instead of a death mask. Some of the masks have hair stuck in the plaster. Materials range in date from circa 1941 to 1972.


Using These Materials

Using These Materials Links:

Using These Materials

Collection restrictions:


Use & permissions:

Copyright for Official University records is held by Duke University; all other copyright is retained by the authors of items in these papers, or their descendants, as stipulated by United States copyright law.